Salsa Time

Last week at the Wakefield Market, I was told there was going to be a salsa competition the next market.

It’s rare that I have an opportunity to hold myself accountable to something I’ve already decided to do. I mean, I’d already decided I was going to make salsa with the leftover tomatoes from the Sauce Project, this was my reason to actually do it!

Did some recipe skimming and found there to be only a few ingredients necessary for salsa.

Tomatoes, Peppers, Onions, Cilantro, Lime, and Salt.

I got what I didn’t have and started work. I knew that this was for a competition, people were going to judge this. I decided I’d better be a bit more scientific than usual.

I started with the basics plus a little chipotle powder. That was pretty good, so I scooped that out and saved it from whatever I was about to do next.

I cut up and avocado and smashed it in, added some more chipotle and cayenne, some nutritional yeast, and a tiny bit of apple cider vinegar. The “presentation of colors” category was already going down hill fast, but the flavor was awesome. I knew things were still going to change, though, so I reserved some of this batch and carried on.

I added some cooked black beans, more salt, and a dash of cumin powder. This is definitely the ugliest of the three batches, but it has a good flavor.

Out of all of them, I think the second batch is the best. I almost ate the whole sample, but made sure to save enough to get some feedback before making more. Whatever batch is going to market, It’s getting named “Granito Salsa” since I’ll be the only New Hampsherite in the competition, so I figured I should honor the granite state.

Leave a comment

Filed under Projections

Leave a Reply

