Tomato Sauce

For about three years now, I’ve been wanting to get a crate of tomatoes when they’re in season and boil them down to a huge batch of sauce. It turns out, be a vendor at several farmer’s markets really helps with getting tomatoes cheap.

Twenty-Three pounds, actually.

I parted with thirty-five dollars and came home with a box of fresh field tomatoes. Once I had some free time, I pureed enough to fill our six quart stock pot and our four gallon slow-cooker.

I skimmed several recipes to get the basics of what was necessary to give it a good flavor. Olive oil, onions, garlic, salt, pepper.

Cool, I got this.

I started by simmering the onions and garlic with the olive oil in the stock pot before I put the tomatoes in so I could get a good flavor into the oil.

The tomatoes were definitely the most involved part. I first tried just dicing them and throwing them in the pot, but I quickly realized how long that was going to take. To save time, I quickly cored and quartered as many tomatoes as I could fit in our blender. The first needed some liquid to stir around in, so I added some turkey broth that we had made earlier. I mean, it’s got delicious fats and spices in it, why not?

I kept at this until I filled both containers. Turning on the heat, I started throwing in spices. I don’t remember the order and I’ll just say that I added a lot of each. Something like this:

Salt, Oregano, Savory, Rosemary, Sage, Garlic, Pepper, and three Bay Leaves.

I simmered them both for about 24 hours. I added some tomato paste part way in to try to thicken it up, which I probably should have done at the outset.

You could smell it from the street.

The result? Two Gallons of sauce. It’s a little watery still, but it tastes fantastic. What’s more, I only used about 2/3rds of the tomatoes! Salsa to come!

2 Comments

Filed under Projections

2 responses to “Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Salsa Time | postpotatoes

  2. Pingback: Irene Day | postpotatoes

Leave a Reply

