Getting Edgy

I think it’s from being so into samurai flicks as a kid.

The idea of having your blade. Something you’ve formed a relationship with. You take care of it and it takes care of you.

Knife sharpening makes me feel like a kitchen samurai.

Piles of tomatoes don’t even slow me down. The blades just fall right through them.

What’s more, though, is the relationship with these tools, now. I’ve spent at least an hour (and up to six hours) with each one of these knives on the stone. Honing, testing, polishing. Seeing them all proudly displayed gives me a rush of memories associated with the time and effort I’ve put into each one.

And I’m still new at this.

I can’t say yet whether I like carbon or stainless steel better for taking an edge. I got the two carbon steel knives recently and they seem to take an edge really quickly, but I’ll have to see how long they hold it.

I was actually more excited for their cousin, though.

An old butchers steel with real wooden handle and a sweet patina? Game over, dude! I’m yours!

It’s been nice to have around when I need to dice a bunch of nightshades and need just a little extra edge, but don’t want to take the time to bust out the stone.

To be sure, though, this does not sharpen knives. It only helps to hone the edge. I use it in addition to the stone to finish the edge by removing the burr, a fold of metal that forms on the edge when using a stone.

It’s this thing that does the heavy lifting.

Double sided Japanese Water Stone.

One side is a 1,o00 grit, the other is a 3,00o grit. The first is used to really establish an edge, the second is to hone and polish that edge to perfection. The water is used to provide both a lubricant to help the blade glide along the face of the stone and also to float away the bits of metal that are ground off the edge so they don’t block up the stone.

If you’re one the fence about taking this up, do it. It’s a great form of therapy.

Finish breakfast, listen to Car Talk, and make all your knives the envy of the neighborhood.

1 Comment

Filed under Reflections

One response to “Getting Edgy

  1. Pingback: Snow and Soup | postpotatoes

Leave a Reply

