No Plan-Cakes

I was once accused of being an anarchist for not liking to use recipes.

I don’t know what it is about them, I just have a hard time following a recipe from beginning to end. I see the proportions and think, “Man, I’m gonna want twice as much pepper as that. If this is a savory dish, why isn’t there more garlic? Maybe some red wine will help deepen things a bit. I know! CUMIN!”

I think I just know my taste. Maybe hard of tasting, but I really prefer things heavily spiced and herbed. Ninety percent of the time, I find that a recipe will taste a bit bland to me if I follow it all the way through. It’s also been easy enough to change things around to my taste when just cooking generally, since I can taste on the go as things are melding and add things on the fly. Baking has always been an exception, though. It’s always been a bit intimidating, since the answer isn’t really revealed until the end. This means it’s always been off limits as far as my jazz cooking goes.

Until today, that is. I decided to rage against recipes by making a floury thing that didn’t need a recipe. My main goal was to make something that packed a lot of nutrition into a little package. What I had was six grain flour, trail mix, oats, butter, whey, yogurt, honey, maple syrup, chocolate, and spices. Everyone was called to serve.

I give to you the Anarchist Pancake.

Here’s what I did, as far as I can remember:

  • I put about two cups of six grain flour, 1/2 cup of rye flour, and 3/4 cup all purpose flour in a bowl.
  • I decided I wanted it fluffy and added 2 teaspoons of baking powder.
  • I usually add melted butter for any kind of pancake, but I decided to fold in a half stick like you do with biscuits. Why not?
  • I then blended 1.5 Cups of greek yogurt, half a banana, a Tablespoon of Honey, and a teaspoon of vanilla and added that as the liquid. Luckily, it was the consistency that I was looking for.
  • I then remembered that eggs would be a good addition. I put two in.
  • I knew that I wanted chunks of stuff in there, so I added I bag of dried fruit that I got as a free sample and the last of a bag of chocolate chips.
  • I figured I wanted a little more spice, so I added cocoa powder, ground cloves, cardamom, and ground chicory root.
  • I thought I was going to be having oats for breakfast, so I had set a cup of them out to soak for the night. It became clear that I was going to eat this thing, so I threw the cooked oats in.
  • I remembered that I would need some salt, so I dissolved about 1/2 teaspoon of salt in some water to make it easier to mix it in.
  • I could tell that it needed to be sweeter, so I added a Tablespoon of Grade B syrup.

After all that, I decided that it was going to be pancakes. I have to say that they turned out pretty well.

The one thing I did notice was the sheer amount of batter that I had at the end. That’s one thing recipes have on me. I’m so into big servings and having leftovers that I always make about a gallon of whatever I’m making. This can be a problem if we’re trying to ration ingredients. You know what, though? These ingredients were all waiting around, sad that they weren’t getting used. I gave them a new home.

It’s in my belly.

Pretty good neighborhood, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Projections

Leave a Reply

